The first thing a celiac looks at is the gluten content of any foods or drinks before ingesting them to avoid horrible reactions. So, what Starbucks drinks are gluten-free?
The good news is that Starbucks has a wide range of gluten-free drinks for those with gluten sensitivity or those who would rather keep off this protein. I have had a variety of gluten-free Starbucks drinks such as the pink drink, mango dragonfruit refresher, nitro cold brew, iced coffee, plain iced teas, Caffe latte, Caffe mistro, vanilla bean crème Frappuccino, and mocha Frappuccino, among others. If you have been struggling to find the right gluten-free drink at Starbucks, this post is for you and will give you some great choices. By the end, you should have an idea of what to order.
Table of Contents
What is gluten-free at Starbucks? (What they are made of)
Gluten-free Starbucks coffee drinks
As you might already know, coffee does not contain gluten. The additives added to various drinks are what add gluten to coffee drinks. However, Starbucks has an array of gluten-free coffee drinks. While some gluten-free coffee drinks come in their simplest form, some allow customizations.
One of my favorites is the nitro cold brew. This coffee is made with steeped cold brew coffee and an infusion of nitrogen. This gives you a rich, cascading frothy texture. You can also get a caffé misto that has equal parts coffee and milk.
Most dairy products like milk and cheese do not contain gluten. You can also order a basic iced coffee that has ice, coffee, and water or opt for a Caffe Americano. These are some of the safest coffee drinks for celiacs at Starbucks.
Gluten-Free Starbucks Espresso Drinks
Espresso does not contain gluten, and this gives a wide variety of gluten-free espresso drinks. The most basic espresso drink you can order is the Caffe latte. With only two shots of espresso and 2% steamed milk, you are assured of safety.
If you want to make things interesting, you can opt for a hazelnut macchiato. This drink comes with espresso, vanilla syrup, steamed milk, hazelnut drizzle, and foam. This list of ingredients is gluten-free, and this drink is a great choice. You can also go for an iced or hot cappuccino.
This is just double espresso, steamed milk, and milk foam with cute latte art at the top. Other great choices include flat whites that contain micro-foamed milk and espresso, latte macchiato, which contains espresso and milk or add some chocolate to your day with a Caffe mocha that contains milk, espresso, mocha syrup, and sweetener.
Gluten-Free Starbucks Frappuccinos
The Starbucks Frappuccino blends are also available without gluten. You just need to know which drinks to order. You can start your summer day with a coffee Frappuccino which contains milk, ice, instant coffee, and whipped cream. If this doesn’t cut it for you, just opt for a chocolaty flavor with the mocha Frappuccino. It has the same ingredients as a coffee Frappuccino but adds mocha syrup to bring a chocolate taste.
If you are not feeling the coffee vibe, you can go with the crème Frappuccino blends like the vanilla bean crème Frappuccino. This drink contains milk, ice, vanilla syrup, crème Frappuccino syrup, and a whipped cream topping. Other similar drinks include strawberry crème Frappuccino, matcha crème Frappuccino, chai crème Frappuccino, and white chocolate crème Frappuccino.
Gluten-Free Starbucks Teas
Starbucks teas are the safest, especially if you order them plain. The coffee chain offers some great black tea drinks, green tea, and herbal tea drinks. Some favorites are the earl grey hot or iced tea, royal English breakfast tea, or latte, green tea, jade citrus mint tea, iced passion tango tea, and iced mango tea.
The London fog, earl grey, and English breakfast are black teas and can be taken hot or iced. They can also be taken as tea lattes with the addition of steamed milk. Green teas can be taken hot or iced and can also be made into lattes. If you still insist on coffee, you can order a dirty chai tea latte containing chai tea and espresso, with steamed milk.
Gluten-Free Starbucks Refreshers
Refreshers are mostly gluten-free at Starbucks, as they contain fruits and a refresher base that mostly contains natural green coffee extract, white grape juice, water, natural flavors, citric acid, and vegetable and fruit juice.
Some of the best refreshers are the pink drink, which has a strawberry acai base, the strawberry acai refresher, the mango dragonfruit refresher, the very berry hibiscus refresher, and the kiwi starfruit fresher. You can also ask for the lemonade versions of the refreshers, like the mango dragonfruit lemonade refresher.
Does caramel have gluten?
Caramel contains no gluten as it contains sugar, water, vanilla, milk, and salt.
Kai Jordan worked as a Certified Nutrition Specialist and now a food critic whose main objective is to provide consumers with as much information as they need to make the right choices concerning foods and drinks. Jordan is passionate about helping the public reach their health-related goals but also keen on reviewing foods and drinks offered by some of the famous restaurants the likes of Starbucks.
Kai has therefore created well-researched and comprehensive excerpts regarding the services and products offered by the giant restaurant chain. And which can be retrieved from Starbmag.com, apart from talking writing, and dealing with food Kai loves also to Kayak. You can read more about me on the about us page.