Starbucks gingerbread latte is a perfect addition to your holiday warmth as it is exceptionally delicious and spicy. However, can someone with celiac disease enjoy this amazing beverage? Is Starbucks gingerbread latte gluten-free?
Starbucks gingerbread latte is gluten-free since the ingredients used to make this drink are free from gluten or wheat. I am a huge fan of this holiday specialty. I recently developed some stomach complications, and my doctor advised me to drop any food or drinks with gluten. Though I had to drop a lot of food, I thank heavens that this spicy drink was confirmed to be free from gluten by my doctor, and I was given the go-ahead to enjoy it. However, when having this beverage, I order it without the whipped cream to cut down on the calories. Keep reading to get more information about the gingerbread latte and if it is allergen-free.
What makes Starbucks gingerbread latte gluten-free?
As mentioned above, the gingerbread latte is gluten-free because the ingredients used in this drink are free from gluten or any form of wheat. Starbucks gingerbread latte is made with brewed espresso, milk, gingerbread syrup, and nutmeg and garnished with whipped cream. Gingerbread syrup is completely gluten-free as it is just a combination of water, citric acid, natural flavors, sugars, and some sodium benzoate added to it as a preservative.
Can you have Starbucks gingerbread latte while following a gluten-free diet?
Yes, the Starbucks gingerbread latte is gluten-free and safe for anyone on a gluten-free diet. Even though there are chances of cross-contamination when preparing the drink because Starbucks uses shared equipment, the gluten levels in your drink will still be low and should not affect your gluten-free diet.
Can you have Starbucks gingerbread latte when you have celiac disease?
Yes, the Starbucks gingerbread latte is gluten-free and should not harm anyone with celiac disease. However, the coffee house does not guarantee that any of their drinks prepared in-house are gluten-free since they use shared equipment to prepare them. As mentioned earlier, using the same equipment to prepare the drinks increases the chances of cross-contamination. Someone with celiac disease should not consume even the tiniest amounts of gluten.
Therefore, if you have celiac disease, ensure you inform your barista of your concerns when placing your order for the gingerbread latte. This will ensure your barista is careful when preparing your order to eliminate any chance of your latte getting contaminated with gluten.
Does Starbucks gingerbread latte contain other allergens?
Gingerbread latte is not completely allergen-free as it is made with milk, which can trigger someone intolerant to lactose. However, you can easily customize this beverage to make it completely allergen free by substituting dairy milk with plant-based milk like coconut or almond milk.
Are all ingredients in Starbucks gingerbread latte gluten-free?
Yes, all ingredients in Starbucks gingerbread latte are gluten-free. This beverage is made with nutmeg, brewed espresso, gingerbread syrup, and milk and garnished with whipped cream.