Are you following a gluten-free diet or aren’t supposed to have gluten due to medical reasons and are wondering, “Is Starbucks almond milk gluten-free?” Read on to find out.
Yes, Starbucks almond milk is gluten-free. Looking at all the components of this milk, none contain gluten or is a product of anything with gluten. I love almond milk, and after being diagnosed with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, I have always made the milk at home and avoided the store-bought ones. So, when Starbucks released its almond milk, I wasn’t as excited because I assumed it had gluten. However, after in-depth research, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this milk was gluten-free.
If you’re unsure about the gluten content in Starbucks almond milk and want to learn what makes this milk gluten-free and if it has other allergens, this article is for you.
What makes almond milk gluten-free?
As mentioned earlier, Starbucks almond milk is gluten-free as none of its components contain gluten or are products of anything with gluten. For a more convincing explanation, let’s break down the components of Starbucks almond milk;
Tricalcium Phosphate is used in this milk to prevent clumping, and it’s gluten-free.
Vitamin A Palmitate is a synthetic version of vitamin A added to the milk to replace the vitamins lost during production. This ingredient is also gluten-free.
Fortified vitamin D2 is also used in Starbucks almond milk, and it’s gluten-free as well.
Sunflower lecithin is a natural emulsifier in Starbucks almond milk that helps bond water with fat and is gluten-free.
Sea salt is added to the milk to bring out its taste, and it is gluten-free.
Almond milk used in the Starbucks brand is made of pure almonds and filtered water. These two are also gluten-free.
Can you have any Starbucks almond milk while following a gluten-free diet?
Yes, you can have Starbucks almond milk while following a gluten-free diet. As we have seen in the explanation above, Starbucks almond milk is gluten-free. However, if you’re using any other brand, check the label to confirm that the milk is gluten-free. Some brands add additives and sweeteners to their almond milk that could contain gluten. Starbucks almond milk has no sweeteners or any other additives.
Can you have any Starbucks almond milk when you have celiac disease?
Yes, you can have Starbucks almond milk if you’re celiac. Not just celiac disease, if you’re suffering from any other medical condition related to gluten, you can have Starbucks almond milk. These conditions may include non-celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten ataxia, dermatitis herpetiformis, and wheat allergy. However, as with any other medical condition, ensure you consult your doctor first.
Does Starbucks almond milk contain other allergens?
Yes. Starbucks almond milk has almond nuts, so if you’re allergic to nuts, steer clear of this milk.
Are all Starbucks drinks with Almond milk gluten-free?
No. The drinks that almond milk is used in could contain ingredients that have gluten.