Is Costa Coffee gluten-free? (Does Costa Coffee contain gluten? + more information)

Coffeehouses like Starbucks and Costa Rica are masters at crafting gluten-free coffee blends. With the high risk of cross-contamination during production and processing, is Costa Coffee gluten-free?

Yes, Costa Coffee offers gluten-free coffee options for people with celiac disease or those who want to observe a gluten-free diet for other health benefits.
Most coffeehouses I visited in the past didn’t guarantee 100% gluten-free coffees because the ingredients they used contained gluten allergens, or their roasting practices exposed their coffees to cross-contamination risks. When I visited Costa Coffee, however, I was delighted to find a list of their gluten-free coffees, including the measures they take to minimize cross-contamination. I can now enjoy a gluten-free cup of coffee without worrying about its purity or the values of its manufacturer. Read on to find out why this coffee is gluten-free, plus more information.

Which Costa Coffees is gluten-free?

Gluten-free Costa Coffee includes mocha Italia espresso, character roast espresso, ristretto, decaffeinated espresso, espresso con panna, Americano, flat black, and premium filter coffee. You should note that Costa Coffee uses shared equipment, so it cannot guarantee completely gluten-free coffees for people with severe allergies. To be on the safe side, check Costa Coffee’s allergen information or ask their baristas which ingredients they used each time you visit.

Can you have any drink made with Costa Coffee while following a gluten-free diet?

Does Costa Coffee contain gluten? 
Costa Coffee. Image source: Pixabay

You cannot have any drink made with Costa Coffee while following a gluten-free diet because some drinks contain gluten allergens like wheat and oat. A gluten-free diet requires you to avoid wheat, barley, rye, and oats. Some drinks made with Costa Coffee, like espresso macchiato, cortado, latte, and cappuccino, contain wheat and oats, either in their ingredients or as a result of cross-contamination, and drinking them would lead you to break your gluten-free diet.

When following a gluten-free diet, you should read the Costa Coffee information manual or consult with their baristas to ensure that the drink you consume is entirely gluten-free.

Can you have any Costa Coffee when you have celiac disease?

You cannot have Costa Coffee when you have celiac disease because some Costa Coffee contains gluten allergens. People with celiac disease are 100% gluten intolerant because ingesting gluten causes their immune system to attack their small intestine cells.

In 2021, Costa Coffee announced that it would be using gluten-free Alpro milk in all its products, making them safe for people with celiac disease. In 2022, however, the company ditched Alpro milk for AdeZ dairy-free milk. The new Costa Coffee oat milk, soya milk, and coconut milk now have a “may contain” warning for wheat allergen, making them unsafe for people with celiac disease. Only almond milk and standard cow’s milk are gluten-free.

Although there’s no cure for celiac disease, observing a strict gluten-free diet and only drinking gluten-free Costa Coffee can help you manage symptoms and boost intestinal healing.

FAQ SECTION

Does Costa Coffee contain other allergens?

Yes. Costa Coffee contains other allergens like soya, milk, and tree nuts.

Leave a Comment