Does Starbucks mocha have dairy? (How to order dairy-free mocha at Starbucks + More Information)

These days non-dairy consumers are lucky as they get considered for drinks at Starbucks. One such drink is mocha, so does Starbucks mocha have dairy?

I am hooked on almost every Starbucks drink, from their lattes and milkshakes to mochas. Though I have to admit, their mocha has to be one of my favorites. Last week, I had a coffee date with my friend who happens to be vegan; both of us got to order a mocha coffee. I learned that Starbucks mocha is not dairy-free, but you can get yourself a dairy-free mocha with a few customizations.

Some of the customizations we made were replacing dairy milk with soy milk and doing away with whipped cream. There are other options, such as almond, coconut, and oat milk. As you continue reading on, you will get informed on how you can order free mocha at Starbucks, if it is vegan or not, and what is in a mocha at Starbucks.

What is a mocha at Starbucks?

Mocha at Starbucks is a caffeinated drink, basically a latte with chocolate sauce. I describe it as caffeinated since they use espresso while making the drink. It can be served iced or hot. The sizes available are short, tall, grande, and venti; however, the dimensions may vary if served iced.

Some mocha varieties served at Starbucks are white chocolate mocha, salted caramel cream mocha brew, peppermint mocha, and toasted white chocolate mocha.

What is in Starbucks mocha?

Starbucks mocha

Starbucks mocha is made of milk, brewed espresso, mocha sauce, whipped cream, and vanilla syrup. You can customize your mocha to suit your preferences.

Is mocha vegan at Starbucks?

Mocha coffee at Starbucks is not vegan. However, you can choose to customize it to make it vegan. The Mocha sauce used is vegan, but this only completes one part of the ingredients.

How to order dairy-free mocha at Starbucks?

How to order dairy-free mocha at Starbucks

To get a dairy-free mocha while at Starbucks, you can consider altering some of the ingredients that go into it. The products that make it a dairy drink are a milk and whipped cream. Therefore choosing alternatives will get you a non-dairy mocha.

You can substitute it with soy, almond, and coconut milk in place of milk. You can do away with whipped cream since it is made from cowmilk.

Final Thoughts

Starbucks mocha is a mix of bitter and sweet chocolate and espresso ingredients. You can refer to it as a latte but with chocolate; it is made from milk, espresso, mocha sauce, and whipped cream. You can tell that it is not a non-dairy drink, given the ingredients. However, if you make a few alterations, you can get your dairy-free mocha. You can achieve this by replacing milk with other alternatives and doing away with whipped cream. Next time you want to order a dairy-free mocha, give those suggestions a try.

FAQ Section

Is mocha coffee safe for high cholesterol?

It will depend on the amount consumed; it is neither safe nor harmful. However, brewed coffee does not pose a risk as it has no cholesterol. Other research has proved that caffeinated drinks are not advisable for people with high cholesterol.

Does white mocha from Starbucks have dairy?

Yes, it does. Ingredients of white mocha are milk, white chocolate mocha sauce, brewed espresso, whipped cream, and vanilla syrup.

The main reason it is called white is because of the white chocolate mocha sauce. You can make it dairy-free by making customizations such as replacing milk with almond, coconut, and soy milk and doing away with whipped cream.

Leave a Comment