Do Folgers Coffees contain gluten? (Is Folgers Coffee gluten-free? + more information)

Folgers Coffee has become a favorite morning tradition in many American families.

Since customers have different dietary needs, you are probably wondering, “is Folgers Coffee gluten-free?” Read on to find out.

Folgers Coffee has been a favorite morning fixture in my family from the very beginning. I especially love the Classic Roast Instant Coffee Crystals because I can quickly make a delicious cup of coffee without having to worry about being late to work. When I began following a gluten-free diet after having allergic reactions to wheat, I decided to research whether Folgers Coffee would meet my new dietary needs. I found that Folgers Coffee is made from 100% pure coffee, which do not contain any gluten allergens; hence, Folgers Coffee is gluten-free. However, consuming flavored Folgers Coffee drinks could put my health at risk because the added ingredients could contain gluten allergens like wheat, oats, rye, or barley.

Keep reading this post to find out more about what makes Folgers Coffee gluten-free and whether you can have any Folgers Coffee when you are following a gluten-free diet or when you have celiac disease.

What makes Folgers Coffee gluten-free?

Folgers Coffee is gluten-free because it is made from 100% pure coffee. Natural coffee beans do not contain any gluten allergens like oats, wheat, rye, or barley; hence, they are 100% gluten-free. Also, Folgers Coffee manufactures its products in a facility that ensures the coffee products are free from any risk of cross-contamination.

Therefore, you can enjoy a gluten-free cup of Folgers Coffee by brewing their natural coffee beans with water only. If you add artificial flavors to your coffee or use their flavored Folgers Coffee beans, then you risk breaking your gluten-free diet.

Can you have any drink made with Folgers Coffee while following a gluten-free diet?

Is Folgers Coffee gluten-free? 
Folgers Coffee. Image source: Folgers® Coffee

No, unfortunately, you cannot have any drink made with Folgers Coffee while following a gluten-free diet. This is because some of their flavored coffee products have added ingredients that may contain gluten allergens.

When following a gluten-free diet, you should exclude wheat, barley, oats, and rye from your diet. Although Folgers Coffee doesn’t include allergen information for their coffee products and drinks, they state that their flavored coffee may have ingredients that have gluten allergens. Therefore, drinks made with their flavored products like French Vanilla Flavored Coffee, Hazelnut Flavored Coffee, Caramel Drizzle K-cup Pods, and Mocha Chocolate Flavored Cappuccino Mix may not be 100% gluten-free.

While their naturally ground and roasted coffee beans are gluten-free, Folgers Coffee states that their farmers harvest, store, and transport coffee and other grain-based crops using the same equipment. This may contaminate their coffee beans with gluten allergens, and drinks made from these beans may not be gluten-free.

To ensure that drinks made with Folgers Coffee are gluten-free, always consult their baristas or read the product nutritional label.

Can you have any Folgers Coffee when you have celiac disease?

No, you cannot have any Folgers Coffee when you have celiac disease because some of their flavored drinks may contain gluten allergens. If you have celiac disease, then you should observe a strict gluten-free diet to avoid experiencing painful complications to your digestive system. Drinking any Folgers Coffee when you have celiac disease can endanger your health because their flavored coffee products have added ingredients that may contain gluten allergens.

Also, their natural coffee beans have a high risk of cross-contamination during harvesting, storing, and transportation because farmers use the same equipment on coffee and grain-based crops when carrying out these activities.


Does Folgers Coffee contain other allergens?

Yes, flavored Folgers Coffee contains allergens like milk, almonds, and peanuts.

Are all drinks with Folgers Coffee gluten free?

No, flavored Folgers Coffee drinks may contain gluten allergens like oats, barley, wheat, or rye.

Leave a Comment