Cutting dairy out of your diet can help you reduce your calorie intake. Some Starbucks customers that don’t take dairy products ask; can frappuccinos be dairy free?
Yes, Starbucks Frappuccino can be dairy free. You can customize frappuccinos to make them dairy-free while ordering them from Starbucks. Bloating was the main reason why I stopped taking dairy products. Before I made this decision, I used to enjoy frappuccinos from Starbucks.
I thought I had to give up my favorite drink until I discovered that I could customize frappuccinos to make them dairy free. I created this post for other frappuccino lovers looking for ways to make them dairy free. By the end of it, you will also learn the specific frappuccinos that you can order without any dairy.
Table of Contents
What are some dairy-free frappuccinos at Starbucks?
Though Caramel frappuccino usually contains dairy products such as whole milk, whipped cream, and caramel sauce topping, you can make it dairy free by customizing it. For instance, you can order this drink with non-dairy milk, such as almond milk or coconut milk. Ask the barista to prepare the drink without any whipped cream.
You should also replace the caramel sauce topping that this frappuccino contains with another syrup that does not contain dairy, such as toffee nut syrup. If you want to give it a spicy taste, feel free to order this beverage with cinnamon dolce syrup.
Matcha Green Tea Crème Frappuccino
This is a classic frappuccino that you should not skip even if you don’t take dairy. Normally, the beverage comprises matcha powder, whole milk, ice, and sweetened whipped cream. You can, however, make it dairy free by substituting whole milk with non-dairy milk such as almond milk or soy milk. Rather than sweetening the drink with whipped cream, order this frappuccino with liquid cane sugar and skip the whip.
You can also make this frappuccino more delicious by ordering it with some raspberry syrup which is dairy free. This complements the earthy flavor of matcha powder.
This is a creme-based frappuccino that you can also order dairy free. Rather than ordering this frappuccino with whole milk, you can order it with any non-dairy milk that you prefer. Some of the options available include almond milk, coconut milk, or soy milk. Starbucks normally serves this frappuccino with whipped cream but ordering Strawberry frappuccino without this ingredient can also make it dairy free.
It is quite refreshing since the drink is served with ice. Feel free to order it with creme frappuccino syrup and classic syrup. Unlike in the past, when Starbucks used to make this frappuccino with a strawberry puree that contained carmine, the coffee house now makes it using vegetable and fruit juice.
Espresso Frappuccino can give you the caffeine kick that you need to begin your day since it contains more than 150 mg of this stimulant. Though the beverage is usually made with whole milk, you can order it with non-dairy milk like soy and still enjoy its energizing effects.
You don’t have to ask for it without whipped cream since it is not usually served with this ingredient. The other components that make up dairy-free espresso frappuccino include ice, coffee-brewed espresso, and coffee frappuccino syrup. Avoid ordering this beverage in the evenings so that it does not interfere with your sleep.
Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccino
This frappuccino was once offered as a seasonal drink during the summer. However, it became quite popular, and Starbucks decided to permanently include it on its menu. To make it dairy free, ask the Starbucks barista to prepare this frappuccino with non-dairy milk instead of whole milk. You should also order it without whipped cream and frappuccino chips since they contain dairy products.
Even without such ingredients, this frappuccino is still quite delicious. You can enjoy this coffee-infused chocolate beverage with cookie crumble and mocha drizzle since they do not have dairy.
Vanilla Bean Crème Frappuccino
Creme-based frappuccinos are delicious and great for people sensitive to caffeine. If you are one of them and you also don’t take dairy, you can consider ordering vanilla bean creme frappuccino dairy free. Though the beverage is usually prepared with whole milk, you can tell the Starbucks barista to make yours with non-dairy milk. You can also order this creamy blend of vanilla bean without any whipped cream.
The other ingredients that make this frappuccino quite tasty and refreshing include creme frappuccino and ice. You can also try it affogato style with a shot of espresso poured over the top. Though eliminating dairy in this beverage can lower the calories, you should still take it in moderation.
Caramel Banana Vanilla Bean
Starbucks sells vanilla bean creme frappuccino but leaves room to customize it. If you love bananas, you can tell the barista to blend a whole banana into this drink to make it sweeter. Though this beverage is often prepared with whole milk, you can make it dairy free by ordering it with non-dairy milk such as almond or coconut milk. Remember to order this frappuccino without any whipped cream.
Though Starbucks offers this frappuccino in different cup sizes, consider ordering it in a venti or grande as you ask for it blended with a full banana.
Chocolate Cinnamon Dolce
Experimenting with drinks and including different ingredients has made customers come up with innovative beverages. One of the drinks that you can try even if you don’t take dairy is chocolate cinnamon dolce. You can order it dairy free by asking the person serving you to make the beverage with a non-dairy milk option such as almond milk instead of whole milk. Since mocha frappuccino contains whipped cream, leave out this ingredient as you order it dairy free.
Do not ask for cinnamon dolce sugar sprinkles since they have dairy. Instead of this, you can ask for the frappuccino to be added cinnamon powder or a sprinkle of nutmeg. This is made with mocha frappuccino and cinnamon dolce syrup.
You can even come up with your own frappuccino without any dairy. Some Starbucks customers learned how to create one called cake batter. This is simply a vanilla bean frappuccino with some hazelnut syrup. This is a non-caffeinated frappuccino that is easy to customize without any dairy. To order, ask the barista to prepare for you the frappuccino with non-dairy milk in place of whole milk. For instance, they can prepare it with oat milk, coconut milk, or almond milk. If you want to give this beverage more flavor, consider ordering it with a pump of raspberry berry.
Specify the cup size you prefer and order the pumps of hazelnut syrup based on it. If, for instance, you order cake butter in a grande, you can tell the barista to add two pumps of hazelnut syrup.
Can one modify all frappuccinos to make them dairy free?
No. Though you can modify most frappuccinos, some cannot be customized to be dairy free. This is because customizing some would mean removing most of their ingredients. For instance, you cannot make a frappuccino such as caramel ribbon crunch dairy free. Another frappuccino that you cannot order dairy free is white chocolate creme frappuccino. Since this is made with white mocha sauce, which has dairy, you cannot remove it and replace it with something else.
If you are sensitive to dairy, the chai creme frappuccino is also not ideal for you. This is because it is made up of chai tea concentrate, which has honey. Also, avoid ordering the java chip frappuccino since it includes frappuccino chips that have dairy. From the above, it is clear that comprehending the ingredients that make up a frappuccino is the first step to customizing such drinks.
One of the reasons why many frappuccino lovers choose Starbucks over other coffee houses is the freedom to customize drinks. If you love frappuccinos, you can order them from this company with or without dairy. We have discussed some of the frappuccinos that you can order dairy free to help you figure out where to start.
What makes a Frappuccino dairy free?
A frappuccino becomes dairy-free when it is not made with regular milk, such as whole milk. It should be made from non-dairy milk, such as coconut milk or almond milk. It is also dairy free if it does not contain any other dairy products such as whipped cream or frappuccino chips, or caramel sauce.
What non-dairy milk is best for Frappuccino?
According to most frappuccino lovers that do not take dairy, coconut milk is the best for such beverages. This is because it is not too sweet, watery, or too creamy.
Do dairy-free frappuccinos have caffeine?
Not all dairy-free frappuccinos have caffeine. Starbucks offers both caffeine-based frappuccinos and creme-based frappuccinos. Creme-based frappuccinos are usually caffeine-free, and you can order most of them without any dairy products. On the other hand, caffeine-based frappuccinos have caffeine, and you can also order some of them dairy-free.
Kai Jordan worked as a Certified Nutrition Specialist and now a food critic whose main objective is to provide consumers with as much information as they need to make the right choices concerning foods and drinks. Jordan is passionate about helping the public reach their health-related goals but also keen on reviewing foods and drinks offered by some of the famous restaurants the likes of Starbucks.
Kai has therefore created well-researched and comprehensive excerpts regarding the services and products offered by the giant restaurant chain. And which can be retrieved from Starbmag.com, apart from talking writing, and dealing with food Kai loves also to Kayak. You can read more about me on the about us page.